26 Comments
Jun 14, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Sounds like you made a great change, Lauren - restorative AND productive. What’s not to love?!

Expand full comment
author

Thank you so much! It took a lot to get there, but once I did there was NO turning back!

Expand full comment

Brilliant! I know a LOT of people who need to follow your lead…

Expand full comment
Jun 14, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

For me, as often as possible, it’s reading a book in the bath. That is my ultimate luxury, one behind that is just reading a book and way behind that is when I spend all night thinking that I’ll be able to read when I just... and then it doesn’t happen 😔🙈

Expand full comment
author

Ahhhhhh love this! Are you a "one book at a time" person or are you one of those folks I am amazed by who has multiple books on the go at any given time?

Expand full comment
Jun 14, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Ahhh, I often have two on the go but ONLY if one is print and the other is on Audible - and even then I sometimes have to remind myself which story I’m in 😆 Audible are for when I’m cleaning (and other mindless tasks…) though, it would have to be a paperback in the bath or it just wouldn’t work ☺️

Expand full comment
author

This actually all makes perfect sense to me. The perfect combo!

Expand full comment

Works for me! How about you?

Expand full comment
author

I am a one book at a time girl. I wishhhhhhhhh. I don't use Audible though so this could be the new way to do it!

Expand full comment
Jun 19, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

😆😆 But seriously, I definitely manage more books since discovering Audible, sometimes even clean for longer... if it’s particularly gripping 😝 Definitely with a try, Lauren x

Expand full comment
Jun 14, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I think of things I’m grateful for. I might play a sleep story before I close my eyes to sleep.

Expand full comment
author

This is beautiful! Do you have a set number (e.g 3 things) or do you just let your heart and mind lead you?

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I let my heart and mind lead me and then I really focus on one of them. I do a mini body scan so I can really try to imprint that gratitude before I sleep. Next time I experience that thing, I often have a good feeling about it. Then I repeat that. A little conditioning, if you will.

Expand full comment
author

This is so beautiful and mindful and intentional. Thank you for sharing this with me, I am going to try this 🧡🧡🧡

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I try to read before bed. The only problem with that is that sometimes I get too into the book I'm reading and then I end up eating into my sleep...

Expand full comment
author

Haha! I feel thisssssssssssss! I simply cannot be trusted.

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

My sleep is problematic, because chronic insomnia is super fun! But I have had the same bed routine for years anyway.

I read for a bit, and have myself a bedtime snack.

Then I call in the animals for bedtime treats.

Then bathroom - brush teeth, brush beard, etc.

Then back to the bedroom where the Doofus dog gets her goodnight cuddle.

Then I give Cuddles her goodnight cuddle.

Then I put in my earplugs, place my sleep mask within reach, and flop.

I do use my phone, with a bkue light filter on, and play some relaxing games.

Eventually my brain will decide I'm allowed to sleep, and I drop the phone l, grab the sleep mask, and hope it doesn't take too long to drift off.

Expand full comment
author

OKAY very important information request! WHAT ARE THE BEDTIME SNACKS?

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Need to know : )

Expand full comment
Jun 16, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Of course! How dare I miss that out?! 😆

Usually either some crisps or some cashews, along with some dried fruit.

Expand full comment
author

OMNOMNOM! Perfect!

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

read a chapter or so of a novel. currently re-reading The Stand (uncut), sooooo. Or some nonfiction if feeling that instead. When really tense, I will listen to a 30 - 60 min recorded meditation. know this helps me wake up like I just came from vacation.

Expand full comment
author

I love this! I have never been able to meditate that long, I always end up falling asleep, haha! Well done you!

Expand full comment
Jun 17, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

if you fall asleep, that's okay and that's what you needed. let that sleep be your meditation.

Expand full comment
author

😭😭😭 thank you so much, this a beautiful reflection.

Expand full comment