19 Comments
Jul 5, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

There’s not one I can think of that I’d be on. If they make one following around people who love Korean or Thai dramas though I would be a good candidate 😝

Expand full comment
author

We need to create this show!

Expand full comment
Jul 5, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Which one would you choose, LD?

Expand full comment
author

I think younger Lauren would have gone on any trying to get famous haha. But the Lauren of the last decade-ish would likely choose a dating show IF they catered to a demisexual and planned a show for that... I personally think that would be a good show haha. I mean of course I would, I am on it (;

Expand full comment
Jul 5, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

The only reality shows I've ever watched are The Apprentice (UK version), because Cuddles enjoys laughing at the people, and appreciates my snark.

And, from yeeeears back (I checked - 2006, for 2 seasons) Who Wants to Be a Superhero (https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Who_Wants_to_Be_a_Superhero%3F). It was presented by Stan Lee, and had 10 people put in a shared house and tested, as their superhero counterparts. I remember one where the supers were told they must walk, blindfold, across a narrow wooden beam, which would be suspended between 2 buildings. Ofc the beam was just on the flat roof, but they didn't see that til afterwards.

And there'd be stuff like a race, but actually they needed to stuff the race and help someone in need.

So it was stuff like that, and Lee would judge who was worthy each week.

It was pretty fun, and there was no laughing at people, no mean stuff - even the villains were just, like, "Mwhahaha, I am eeeeevil!"

It was just wholesome, and fun, and you could really get into rooting for this really pretty great set of people literally just doing their best to be awesome.

Expand full comment
author

This sounds truly so wonderfully wholesome!

Expand full comment
Jul 5, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I haven't had a television since the early 1980s, but I have watched a version of reality t.v. on Netflix - my absolute favorite being, QUEER EYE. Early in my grieving time, I watched the most recent season from New Orleans and it was such good medicine. Queer Eye offers so much to viewers about the process of self-realization and liberation.

Expand full comment
author

Yes! I love this feel good reality TV! It is so easy for me to forget that reality TV can be good and wholesome and healing when it is shows like this.

Expand full comment
Jul 5, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Oh I don’t want to be on any of them because I think it would be hell. But I am such a sucker for most dating shows even though they also drive me mad

Expand full comment
author

THIS! Exactly.

You are invited to enjoy shitty dating shows with me anytime, purely to hear my 82 year old Nan comment on them. It makes for an entirely different show.

Expand full comment
Jul 5, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Love is Blind is mine and my best friend’s love language and tv show!

I’m currently in a deeply committed relationship to Love Island UK

I think the way things are headed I’ll be on Married at First Sight before I even know what’s happening to me

Expand full comment
author

HAHA! I will keep a close eye on you, friend!

Expand full comment

Haha I appreciate it! X

Expand full comment
Jul 6, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Never heard of Farmer wants a wife! I need to check that out!

Expand full comment
author

Oh it is exactly what it sounds like, and may only be enjoyable with Nan's commentary haha. Possibly.

Expand full comment
Jul 6, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I’ve actually thought “I wish I could be on “Queer Eye” because I’ve lost my sense of “care” about wardrobe, hair style, etc and feel menopausal frumpy. Worn out from family caregiving.

Expand full comment
Jul 6, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Have you seen The Traitors? I watched the whole thing over like, three nights when the baby was a newborn. It’s absolutely fascinating - a total study of mass hysteria and influence. I’d love to go on there!

Expand full comment
author

OMG THIAS LOOKS SO GOOD! And it is hosted by Alan Cumming? ICONIC!

Expand full comment
Jul 6, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I second this but the UK one is much better than the US one! The UK one is hosted by Claudia Winkleman x

Expand full comment