12 Comments
Sep 20, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

YES! It’s a long time since I have eaten it but I lived in Sydney for a year in the late 80s. I wasn’t an adventurous eater then so didn’t do much with it except plonk it on toast so I am ALL EARS! I made some roasted parsnips with marmite and honey a while ago (I know marmite is NOT Vegemite!) so I bet there are all kinds of wondrous things you can do with Vegemite! Xx

Expand full comment
author

Oh that sounds so yummy! I am not against marmite at all, it just needs to know it is a different thing hahahaha!

Some folks use vegemite on pizza which I am yet to venture into. But as I have become a digital nomad and want to narrow the amount of things I carry/buy I have been known to use it in a stir-fry instead of soy sauce! Is it the same? No. Is it awesome? Yes.

I also made YUMMY sandwiches for my bus trip from Vancouver > Seattle that were vegemite and boiled egg and I LEFT THEM IN THE FRIDGE! What a sad day! haha

Expand full comment

Yes I have actually eaten vegemite, and LOVE it because it's vegetarian, it's way healthier than butter and it scratches a weird flavour itch that only vegemite can scratch. I have it by itself on toast.

Expand full comment

and I'm in Ireland and only learned recently that's vegemite is Australian so it has made it a long way around the world

Expand full comment
author

Wow that is so cool to hear! YAY!

Expand full comment
author

Oh yessssss! Exactly this!

Expand full comment

Never

Expand full comment
author

We shall have it when we meet IRL one day!

Expand full comment
Sep 21, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I’ve never had it, but now I’m dying to try it!

Expand full comment
author

I WANT TO MAKE YOU A SANDWICH! 🧡

Expand full comment
Sep 29, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I’m totally willing that to happen!!! 🥪🥪🥪

Expand full comment
author

YES YES YES! YAY!

Expand full comment