6 Comments
Jul 19, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I told you one of my Pride stories on the podcast, but I'm gonna break out a whole new surprise for you here.

In the mid-200s, I got involved with my first ever Pride event.

And because I never do anything by halves, I did this by joining the event planning team, doing the first Pride in a while, in a pretty big city, and wound up in charge of organising the entire marketplace - all the stalls and all the food.

I had never dkne anything even vaguely approaching this, and I have no idea how or why I wound up in charge of it. But it did let me sneak in some discounts and a couple of freebies to small businesses.

And ofc, I then had to be out there at the arse end if dawn, and spent the entire day running around the arboretum park checking on a million things, fixing stuff when someone got pissed, and ensuring all was well.

I legit forgot to eat, or sit down, til I almost fell down in a faint (oops).

But damn that was a good day.

Expand full comment
author

Damn, it was a good day - and your efforts made it a damn good day for others too! 🧡

Expand full comment
Jul 19, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

It would have to be my first Pride event that I stumbled upon on my first trip to NYC with my cousins. We'd planned a trip for the end of June because most of us were educators and that's when our schedules opened up. We were young and dumb and had no idea what a real metropolitan city looked like (though I live close to DC, it doesn't really count since no building can be as tall as the tip of the capital building).

We loved it! The colors, the flamboyance, the people living their best unsuppressed lives made an impression, and it's one that has stayed with me though the trip was over 20 years ago.

Expand full comment
author

I can picture this! How amazing, thank you so much for sharing this memory 🧡🧡🧡

Expand full comment
Jul 21, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I think the best pride event I attended was my first one...it wasn’t as big as later ones I attended in San Francisco, but it was special to me because it took place in Indiana, where I grew up, and I was with some close friends. I wasn’t out then, but it was (and still is!) meaningful to me to see the queer community celebrating &thriving in such a conservative place...it felt like a moment of personal hope, an “Oh, maybe someday I could be out like this too, even if this state & culture makes it so hard to do so”.

Expand full comment
author

Beautiful. Thank you.

'It felt like a moment of personal hope' is such a wonderful thing to read.

Expand full comment