15 Comments
Aug 30, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

...the day job...

Expand full comment
Aug 30, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Ditto What Sophie said

Expand full comment
author

I feel this, thank you both for sharing 🧡

Expand full comment
Aug 30, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

It's great that you make your substack interactive (audience participatory) - I do the same with many of my public installations. What takes up most of my time is responding to everything that arrives, whether it's my mentally unstable son asking for reassurance or multiple projects that are all vying for attention. I am always attempting to be more discerning about what is a priority, but in the present moment, I jump from this to that, responding to each, seemingly at random. It could be called, "no impulse control," but it's also it's own kind of flow. I have so many day jobs, responsibilities that pour into each other, some self-imposed. By the end of the day, I just don't want to be regretful that I did not do x, y, and z because I either forgot or was avoidant. There's always tomorrow.

Expand full comment
author

"It's also it's own kind of flow" is so lovely. I love that framing of it.

Thank you for the reminder that "There's always tomorrow". 🧡

Expand full comment
Aug 30, 2023·edited Aug 30, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Don't get me started! Well, if you insist... on-line games; only a couple but I waste entirely too much time, telling myself I need to relax and clear my head. OMG, take a walk to clear your head! Reading Yahoo news--no, not important things like about the latest indictment of a certain politician (who just won't freaking go away!), but about stuff like a tree that seems to be growing backwards. Who the hell cares? Oh, then there's moping; I envy people who get over things quickly. I don't. I cling to hurts like they're diamonds. Or New York cheesecake. I've thought perhaps I should learn yoga or zen or just basic meditation. But that takes too much time. And that's quite enough for now. Ciao.

Expand full comment
author

Oh gosh this entire comment is so relatable. Maybe the things I do are different but the sentiment is the same. I appreciate you sharing! 🧡

I also really want to know about this tree...

Expand full comment
Aug 31, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Menstruation. Grateful. And...it's so. much. work. The prep. The arrival. The time after. The laundry. The purchases. The lost wardrobe. The investments. The research as products change. The research as body changes. The trial and error. The planning. For work. For travel. For dining. For theater. And dance class. Yoga-ing during heavy flow. Timed certifications and interview tests requiring long sits. Hikes + camping. Friend's dog senses it and tries attaching to crotch like a magnet. When it arrives unannounced. The symptoms. The clean up. The rest of living doesn't stop. This is added to the stack of to-dos. Being given paid time off to menstruate and pre-menstruate is making more and more collective sense. Fantasize resting naked in a clean, ancient lake for 7 days of free-bleeding. Periodt.

Expand full comment
author

OH MY GOODNESS. Yes. Wow. I am so so grateful for you writing this, voicing it, sharing it.

Everybody read this comment! 🧡🧡

Expand full comment
Sep 22, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

PROCRASTINATION...I waste so much time in the day, if it were a crime I would've been locked up decades ago!

Expand full comment
author

ME TOO! But specifically what I call procrasti-snacking.

Expand full comment
Sep 29, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Our Twindom is on another level...I procrasti-snack with food, social media, TV, even my writing!

Expand full comment
author

I wish I could branch out like you! Hehe

Expand full comment