13 Comments

Here is where I out myself as a chaotic reader because I have 8 on my currently reading shelf but I am actively reading 3. Watch Your Mouth which I would recommend if sports romances are your thing. A Gathering of Shadows which I would recommend if you like magic and London and only if you’ve read the first book A Darker Shade of Magic because it’s a trilogy. And Starling House which I’m only a couple of chapters in but so far seems perfect for spooky season.

Expand full comment
author

I respect this skill to read multiple books at once! I cannot even dive into two TV shows at a time! You are so awesome and thank you for these recommendations! 🧡

Expand full comment

Call it the eternal skill I honed doing an English degree a decade ago!

Expand full comment

I’m listening to Burnout. It’s the book written by sisters Amelia and Emily Nagoski. I read it (or listen) every couple of years because I need a reminder on completing the stress cycle every day and also dealing with stressors. I HIGHLY recommend it.

Expand full comment
author

This sounds great! Thank you! 🧡🧡

Expand full comment
Oct 26, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

currently re listening to The Discovery of Witches triology by Deborah Harkness, I love it, witches, vampires, demons (not the nasty kind), magic, family drama and romance.

Expand full comment
author

THIS SOUNDS SO GOOD!

Expand full comment

I'm reading Klara and the Sun by Ishiguro and I'm not lovvvvvvving it but it may be that I need to get into the style. I feel like I've seen a lot of excellent explorations of AI on TV and in film, so it feels like something that's been done. Saying that, I'm only a tiny bit of the way in so perhaps it's a case of giving it more time!

Expand full comment
author

Standing by to see how you go!

Expand full comment

I'm rereading the mammoth book of westerns, an anthology edited by Joe E Lewis, because I have set out to review a western genre book a month on my blog, and the month is about to turn! So far I've read two of the thirty-five stories in the anthology. One was okay but kind of depressing, the second one I didn't like much. Also, I am miffed by the introduction, which states that only the U.S.A had "a West." News to me, as I read in western Canada. Pretty sure Australia has a west and had a 18th/19th/20th century period of European colonization/exploration/expansion as well ;)

I am also being distracted by the release of the 2023 LWS anthology ebook, which I want to read soon, and I'm also part way through reading Worlds of Possibility, an anthology of stories meant to bring joy and put together by Julia Rios. I'm not sure it's available to the general public yet, I have a contributor's copy.

I'm also also listening to old Suspense radio episodes to acknowledge the spooky season, and I'm supposed to be doing some amateur judging for the Audio Verse Awards this week too! I am not short of things to do. :)

Expand full comment
author

Not short of things to do, indeed! VT, you are so busy in the best way, congrats on all of these fun things you are a part of! 🧡

Expand full comment
Nov 5, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Listening to & taking notes - ‘Travel light’ by light Watkins 💖

Expand full comment
author

Oooh this looks like a good one!

Expand full comment