21 Comments
Aug 16, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I have a new housemate who is from Pakistan. On Sunday, he spent the day cooking food for the week. The whole house smelled like Indian food and I loved it.

Expand full comment
author

Oh my, how delicious!

Expand full comment

I'm not a big floral fan when it comes to colognes, body washes, etc., but I LOVE the smell of gardenias and jasmine.

GARDENIA: My mother had a huge gardenia plant/bush on her living room coffee table--it was at least 4 feet wide/long by about 2-3 feet tall. The scent permeated the entire room and was just lovely. Over the years I've tried to grow the plant/flower but have had very little success. Most often they last part of a season though only 3 or 4 buds seem to bloom, then they refuse to return the following. This year, however, the buds on one I planted two years ago (maybe more) actually opened and stayed, springing new ones every several days. So far the plant has given me a total of 12 blossoms. I have no idea what is different but I am heartened and optimistic it will return next year.

JASMINE: When we bought out home 20 years ago, knowing how much I love jasmine, my husband planted a hedge of it along one side of our house, just outside our 3 giant sliding windows. When it begins to bloom around May, we open the windows (on the days the heat isn't too unbearable) and it's my favorite place to be! Hugs!

Expand full comment
author

Oh these are really lovely smells and your stories behind why you love them are beautiful. Thank you for sharing!

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Coffee. The smell in the air just after it’s rained. A good hot chocolate. Freshly baked goods (especially bread). Freshly cut grass.

Expand full comment
author

This list was a sense sensation over and over. Love these!

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Lavender :) also a home cooked meal

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Lemongrass, Casablanca Lily, coffee, bakeries

Expand full comment
author

Lovely list! Yes!

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Oklahoma

Okay, I'll elaborate :D

When I was a kid, my family took road trips during winter break, down through the US mid-west, sometimes through blizzards. Kansas often still had snow on the ground. But when you stopped in Oklahoma, and got out of the car, you'd get the smell of living and warmth and a bit of a dust maybe a touch of fertilizer but also wet (there always seemed to be puddles) and you knew you were getting closer to your destination and it was great!

Expand full comment
author

I loved reading this so much! What a delightful memory and the feeling it brings, associated with that scent. Thank you.

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Night blooming Jasmine is one that comes to mind. I associate it with sultry summer nights on holidays in Spain.

Expand full comment
author

I love when smells evoke memories!

Expand full comment
Aug 19, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Fresh cut grass 💚 Lavender 😍Popcorn 😆 coffee beans 😂 A Sunday roast 😍 Freshly baked bread 💖 I love perfumes too 😂 oh and I can’t forget flowers - wild roses for the win 🌹 you can sense I do love a good smell 😂😂😂

Expand full comment
author

These are all very good choices!

Expand full comment

My gran used to make a concoction she called "asafoetida". Long before I learned it was actually a food ingredient in its own right, she would add all manner of things to it, and make it into a skin rub for aches and pains. I'm the only person in my family who could stand the smell of it - I LOVED it, and would go into her bedroom, go over to the dressing table she kept it on with the bay rum, and just open the bottle and sniff it. No-one knows her recipe, so that scent went with her, unfortunately. I also love the smell of petrol, and that dusty smell in tube stations after a train has been through.

Expand full comment
author

Oh wow, the smell went with her 🧡 That is so beautiful and powerful. I wonder if you will ever smell anything similar and be brought back to that room. I hope so 🧡🧡

Expand full comment
Sep 29, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

It would be amazing if I did, but the weirdest thing is, I don't know if I could describe the smell? It's so entrenched in my memory that if I think really hard, I can smell it now, over 25 years later, but I don't know if I could put it into words! Isn't that nuts?

Expand full comment
author

I think that is really special!

Expand full comment

Yeah, I think so too xxx

Expand full comment