14 Comments
Oct 11, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

A cake donut with nothing on it if we are going that route otherwise mochi donuts and all they come with. The breakfast cereal one leading the pack

Expand full comment
author

DROOLING TO ALL OF THE ABOVE!

Expand full comment
Oct 11, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I love donuts. They've soothed me through grief when my mother passed away, adding pounds I've yet to shed. And, yes, as a copper working graveyard shifts, donut shops were a thing. To sit at the counter with a "cruller" and commiserate with the hard-bitten gal filling my cup with coffee, surely the spoon standing up on it's own in the dark, sustaining brew. We were the only two people in the world for a few minutes. Donuts do that, where they belong, in the spaces where we want to heal. Did I say I love donuts?!

Expand full comment
author

Oh wow, I love this comment so so much, thank you Kathleen for taking me on that journey with your words 🍩

Expand full comment
Oct 11, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Thank YOU for the prompt topic that may lead to a newsletter story 😉🍩🍩🍩

Expand full comment
author

Yes! This is so magical for me to read!

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Please let it! You had me at "hard-bitten gal."

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

This was kind of beautiful

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

That. Is a tough question.

I like just sugared ones...glazed ones...custard ones...caramel ones... But I'd have to say YumYums. They're basically long, twisted donuts, dipped in sweet icing, and they're gorgeous.

Expand full comment
author

When "gorgeous" is used to describe food... that's it right there! Love this!

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Boston cream donuts by Krispy Kreme for the win. They are the closest I can get to an éclair. I recently rediscovered this bakery that had been a staple of one of the places I'd rode by growing up. Called Walls Bakery, it used to have a big 3D Wooden wigwam as a sign (which I'm assuming was eventually dismantled as an offense to the Native American tribes of the area). Now the shop is in an unassuming brick strip mall off the main highway. As a kid, I'd always wanted to go there, and when I found it, I made a promise to myself to only visit it occasionally because it sells oversized pastries! I tried their éclair, this MASSIVE log of a pastry that I have to consume in two sittings (or is it settings?).

Expand full comment
author

This sounds like a heavenly treat and I am so thrilled you found them again!

Expand full comment

I think sugar & jam might be very boring - no surprise here L 😂 but my gosh are they delish with a big mug of tea 🥳

Expand full comment