10 Comments
Nov 1, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Transition to summer. I’m a complicated flower. I flourish in warm weather ☀️ 🇰🇪 👶🏿

Expand full comment
author

I feel this so much! I think the transition to winter is nice for me, but then only for a short bit then actual winter comes and I think "please no, take me back to the sun!"

Expand full comment

We parked rather far away from our destination. We walked along a path strewn with vibrant yellow, orange, red, and crunchy brown leaves. Not yet swept or blown off the path to become sodden in the gutter. With infinite patience born of enjoying the transition to winter, I let my grandson enjoy his romp through the leaves; kicking them, picking them up for examination, and meandering at his leisurely pace. We'd be late...but oh, autumn.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for transporting me to another place with these words! WOW! What a gift. Gorgeous! 🧡

Expand full comment

I am not a fan of daylight savings in either direction, but the darker evenings hit like a ton of bricks in the autumn to winter transition. I'm trying to lean into cozy jumper and tea season, but I prefer the early UK spring when the baby sheep dot the hills by late February. 🐑

Expand full comment
author

THE BABY SHEEP! What an image! Stunning, thank you 🧡🧡

Expand full comment
Nov 2, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Transition to autumn-winter. Writing in isolation with fall colors, snow, windy scenes, and electric candles filling my windows is my vibe. Autumn-fall, for me, seems to come with both internal and external reflection, which my body welcomes at the end of a full and complicated year.

Expand full comment
author

This sounds incredibly serene 🧡

Expand full comment

I love all the seasons- too hard to pick 😂...My Lou rule for autumn/winter is to hibernate like the animals - I follow natures lead...and have been doing that for years 💖 Big cosy fire, relax, reset & kick those feet back with no guilt of not doing enough - once the sunsets, I know I can set too if I want ⛅️ 🌅 💤 ...I love the dark evenings surrounded by lights & candles...I just embrace this time of the year in a way that naturally encourages & allows for relaxation like no other 🛋️ 🔥 🙏I absolutely love the blue skies- the sun on my face when the daffodils eventually push upwards & the buds of spring start to begin life once again. For me, the seasons are my guiding light in how to take life one day at a time by following nature as she leads the way...

There’s a beautiful quote from a Lewis Carroll poem that captures the magic for me:

“I wonder if the snow loves the tree and fields, that it kisses them gently? And then it covers them up snug, you know, with a white quilt; perhaps it says “Go to sleep darlings, till the summer comes again.”

Expand full comment
author

OH THIS QUOTE IS DIVINE!

Expand full comment