10 Comments
Sep 6, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

This is such an unfair question because I Adore breakfast! In thinking about it, I don't think I have a singular breakfast food but rather enjoy the entire experience of the different combinations. I can eat breakfast for any meal of the day. My favorite breakfast always involves thick-cut pork bacon because everything is better with it, isn't it? As for the breads, I love either a thick well-dipped French toast or a light and fluffy Belgian waffle.

Expand full comment
author

Drooling reading this! I adore breakfast too! It is so special and absolutely can be eaten any time of the day! ALL DAY BREAKFASTS FOR THE WIN!

AND this is unfair as I gave a question I do not think I can answer haha 🧡

Expand full comment
Sep 6, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I like a sweet and salty combination. I would choose a sweet crepe or pancake or French toast and then the eggs (easy), with bacon or sausage. Don’t forget the hot sauce and coffee with cream 🤤

Expand full comment
author

I want to eat breakfast right now reading this haha! YUMMMMM!

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

So I lovelove good egg scrambles or super fluffy pancakes....but I am currently just so addicted to an oatmeal I make almost every morning (lol). Oatmeal, cranberries, crushed cashews, cinnamon, a banana, and vanilla soy milk...whenever I don't have it I am a little sad. It's simple but delicious :)

Expand full comment
author

"whenever I don't have it I am a little sad"... I FEEL THIS!

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Breakfast is, without a doubt, my favorite meal, but I don't really have a favorite food; I like variety (if I have the time: banana-sweetened, gluten-free pancakes, or eggs with homegrown veggies and herbs & gluten-free sour dough bread, slices of nectarine or another fruit, on the side). The big breakfast buffets I experienced in Germany many years ago, blew my mind - oodles of incredible breads, amazing cheeses, yogurts, eggs, fish, fruits, and veggies - all of it included in the price of the room. Who can complain about that? We ate those breakfasts with so much relish, and didn't need to eat again until late in the day. At home, my body's inflammatory responses to wheat, sugar, dairy would have my joints complaining. But just remembering those spreads makes me happy. If you forced me to choose one food, it would be an almond croissant - the kind made with marzipan, not the cream-filled kind. I eat one of those forbidden treats every year with a cafe au lait (oat milk) and reminisce about my first summer in Europe when I was introduced to fine pastry as a breakfast food. In my home today, where I endeavor to eat foods that align with my body's needs, I'm grateful to have some Irish oats cooked in hemp milk, with chia, flax, and hemp seeds, mixed with homemade applesauce, a few nuts like pecans, walnuts or filberts, and a dollop of cashew yogurt or cocoyo.

Expand full comment
author

Oh this was a feast to read! I am daydreaming of that buffet now 🧡🧡

Expand full comment
Sep 8, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I am so apathetic to breakfast I really do just only eat something so that I can make it to lunch. It's really just a protein bar on weekdays and I wake up late enough on Saturdays that I can just roll straight to lunch. However, my Sunday mornings right now always start with some kind of pastry, coffee and a book (or my Duolingo learning for the day) and that ritual is a little bit of bliss. Also, I will never say no to a stack of pancakes with some bacon slathered in maple syrup.

Expand full comment
author

This comment screams love of your own life. As per usual, you inspire me to date/romance myself more!

Expand full comment