14 Comments
Apr 2, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I hope the digital sabbath works well for you. Time away is good.

And if it's the last ramble I get to make, well, let's go! 😁

Something recent...

I'm disabled and I have various chronic pains and mobility issues as well as bipolar and some other complex mental health stuff. So I find it really hard to do just about anything.

So I mostly live upstairs, and Cuddles witu me. We had a good setup except for the kitchen. I enjoy cooking, Cuddles does not (and therefore has no patience with learning anything beyond put in oven then take out when done), but getting me downstairs and seated in a stool was wasn't comfortable to try and cook, with Cuddles running around the kitchen following my orders was all a bit too much.

So first we got a mini fridge, mostly to put drinks in.

Then the kettle and my bean-to-cup coffee machine arrived.

Then nothing for ages, just me window shopping for electrical cooking things to add to my kitchen gadgets collection.

Then came the cost of living crisis meaning those things would actually be great because we have a gas oven. But we are poor and broke, so we couldn't get any of the things.

And theeeeen Cuddles dislicated her ankle and gave herself a bunch of mini fractures as the ligaments pulled free. There is history of Cuddles' ankle dislocating and she's just popped it back in again and carried on with life, which frankly horrified me. But this time sye couldn't cos it was too messed up, so she wound up in a cast on orders to move as little as possible.

All of a sudden I'm the more mobile one and this is very bad news! We had to take out an advance on one of our benefits (permitted with repayment over 13 months taken out directly, and interest free).

So we got a mini oven with two hotplates on top. A table (yet to be assembled because that's been way too much, but which will hold all my gadgets n stuff), and a giant electric pan, plus some new pans and sundry stuff for me.

So basically now the downstairs kitchen is just there to store food in the fridge/freezer and cupboards, because our upstairs makeshift kitchen is actually really good, and only going to get better!

And I can cook again! Meaning I can feed us vegetables and stuff! 🙌

Expand full comment
author

I am always so grateful for the time you take to share with us!

This set-up sounds perfect. What's something you made recently that you really enjoyed?

Expand full comment
Apr 5, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

It's been so long since I could cook properly, and my abilities have changed so much n that time, that I started off small. But I have made it up to making pasta dishes. And tomorrow I'm planning home fries with chicken, bacon, & spring onions. Gonna season the potatoes with smoked paprika, sage and rosemary (a combo I know both me and Cuddles love). Undecided about what to do with the chicken, but that just means staring at my numerous options til something pops out at me.

Expand full comment
author

Lovely! Enjoy all of that!

Expand full comment
Apr 3, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I started my daily walks again. GirlTrek is doing a challenge this month and I decided to get on it. I get to be outside so I get fresh air and sun on my skin. My dog is loving it too.

Expand full comment
author

I love this! Do you walk the same route each day to a favourite place or follow your heart each day? I tend to mix that up based on my mood and am always curious what others do.

(for anyone reading this who might not know about them, GirlTrek are awesome: https://www.girltrek.org/)

Expand full comment
Apr 5, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I live near a bunch of connecting parks so I usually opt for those if I’m taking my pup. If I’m going on a solo walk I’m likely to get into my car and drive to a specific park that I’ve always wanted to walk through.

Expand full comment
author

Love that you have all that variety!

Expand full comment
Apr 3, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I treated myself to some very fancy pyjamas. I am wearing them right now. Black and silky with big yellow flowers and cuffs. They remind me of 1930s lounging pyjamas. The trousers are ridiculously long (why? I am a tall woman, they are still ridiculously long) so I have to turn the top over every time I am out of bed to avoid tripping over. No matter, I love them.

Good for you on the tech sabbatical - bloody good idea x

Expand full comment
author

THESE PJS SOUND DIVINE! I love this image of you lounging about, living your life deliciously!

I bought a new (to me) second hand satin robe the other day. It is blue with giant florals and flared sleeves and I plan to feel my best in it. Plus, it is is very lightweight so I can travel with it and live deliciously on the go no matter what else I need to fit in my suitcase haha.

xx

Expand full comment
Apr 3, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I am delighted that you will be taking digital sabbath. I have been (mostly succeeding) at taking Sundays offline for quite some time now and it almost always makes me feel better.

Funny that you should mention tea because I have recently made a commitment to drink up all the tea in my cupboard and finally finished one jar full, today was the start on the (old) green tea box.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you, VT! My first was a huge success and I felt the massive difference.

I love that you're using up your tea! I am good at saving tea for some reason, instead of enjoying it, so you have inspired me to go and make a cup now!

Expand full comment
Apr 5, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

We should all wear satin robes AT ALL TIMES! Sounds like this one can be rolled up and put in a sock for travel purposes - perfect.

Expand full comment
author

YES to all of the above!!!! PJ party when we finally meet IRL? Okay!

Expand full comment