19 Comments
Feb 19, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

Getting a rush ticket to a matinee in the morning, picking up lunch pre-show (and a pastry) then seeing said matinee (almost always a musical) and if I’m in the area, I pop into my favourite bookshop and just hang with the books before heading home.

Expand full comment
author

I love this, I would love to bring more of this spontaneity into my life that is mixed with the magic of performance and PASTRIES! But, as I am a v planned out person, in order to do so, I am going to set myself reminders to look for these each week. Until it of course becomes habit.

Thank you! 🧑

Expand full comment
Feb 19, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

Hiking is a fave. πŸ˜‰πŸ˜Ž

Also, park hangs with a friend or a book, picnic lunch in tow.

Expand full comment
author

HAHA YES TO HIKING!

I love a good sandwich in the park. Thank you for reminding me 🧑

Expand full comment
Feb 19, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

I like quiet times with Cuddles and the animals. Doesn't matter what we're doing, usually we're doing totally different things, but we're together and generally covered in happy furballs. This is my happy place.

If I am around other people it's usually online, and we don't drink.

I do drink myself. I enjoy tastes of things and all that. But not that often. And Cuddles has a problem where any alcohol gives her a splitting headache, so she rarely drinks (and has to take painkillers first when she does).

My groups of people just aren't really drinkers. I'm in England so we have binge drinking culture everywhere but damn I am too old for that nonsense, lol.

I did used to have a drink problem, but it was never a "go clubbing and throw up on the floor" kinda stuff. I rarely went out to places but when I did, I regretted it later because yikes, I could not stop once I started.

I did most of i home alone instead, usually trying to settle my own demons enough to get some sleep. It's taken a lot of work but it's good, and I can enjoy a drink just for itself, then put it away for another day. Which might be weeks away. πŸ€·β€β™‚οΈ

That was more info than you asked for but if you will invite me to write...πŸ˜†

Expand full comment
author

Thank you as always for sharing. I love the thought of you being together but doing your own thing. That is lovely 🧑

Expand full comment
Feb 19, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

Definitely long walks in the forest with dogs is the best.

Expand full comment
author

YES! The soundtrack is amazing 🧑

Expand full comment
Feb 19, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

Alcohol is a curse, it changes you and steals your time. I crochet or go for a walk ❀️

Expand full comment
author

Thank you Ev, I must try and learn to crochet or knit again now I have sobriety and patience 🧑

Expand full comment
Feb 21, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

Crochet is easy and there are lots of great beginner video’s on YouTube.

Expand full comment
Feb 19, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

Ecstatic Dance. 11am on Sundays (usually the same worldwide)- no alcohol, no drugs, no phones, no talking just pure dance.

Expand full comment
author

Looking into this right now it sounds perfect! 🧑🧑🧑 THANK YOU!

Expand full comment
Feb 20, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

I (try) to take Sundays off from the internet (I have been bad about this lately, but managed it yesterday!)

I hardly ever drink, so here is a list of things that I would do on a "perfect" summer Sunday:

Go for a walk really early

Maybe even pop into a lake for a few minutes

Garden

Play with the dog

Have an indulgent breaklunch -maybe waffles

Read

Do a puzzle (probably one of the hard sudokus that take me an hour)

Read some more

Nap because by this time it's too hot

Quick shower

Have supper with family

Play board games or watch a movie

Listen to a podcast or radio show

Maybe write a postcard

Sort self a bit for Monday

Go to bed early

with a book!

Looking back over this list I feel that it's very stereo-typically introvert, but that's all right!

Expand full comment
author

I have a large sticker on my laptop that says "Solitude" inside a heart. This list is perfect. Thank you so very much for sharing 🧑🧑

Expand full comment
Feb 22, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

Dancing but specifically not club dancing. I’m talking more dances you have to learn then dance socially. As I’m teetotal, what I love about Argentine tango is that it’s frowned upon to drink or at least to be drunk or tipsy. You’re there to dance and not to be off your face on the dance floor. If you don’t fancy taking classes in dance then...

Walks along the beach. Trips to cafes or restaurants. Flaneuring. Just going for a walk and exploring the area without having a set place to go. People watching. Enjoying the moment. Exploring the little things and enjoying not being on a timetable of getting from a to b. Cuddling animals. Going for walks. Watching box sets. Phoning friends. Reading comfort books. Xx

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for this. During lockdowns I did a lot of learning dances on YouTubes and loved it! Thank you for reminding me... and maybe convincing me to do it IRL 🧑🧑🧑

Expand full comment
Mar 4, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

Cinema, sun rise, sun set, walks, moon gazing...watching documentaries, walks, colouring, I love sitting in coffee shops...or places I can watch people.....

Expand full comment
author

Gosh it's been a really long time since I watched a documentary. Thank you for the reminder. While I await yours to be made, any recommendations? 🧑

Expand full comment