7 Comments
Dec 11, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Ah the sads… I would ask the person if they want to be cheered up or if they want just quiet company. Ultimately my go-to way to cheer someone is to affirm that what they feel is valid and that I’m there for them in the specific ways that I am.

Expand full comment
Dec 12, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Really love the note re: specificity! I know how grateful I've been when friends say exactly what they can do or offer, giving me a break from having to figure out something I don't fully know, in the midst of being completely overwhelmed and unable to properly function.

Expand full comment
author

LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS. Thank you. So important xx

Expand full comment
Dec 12, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I ask if they want to come over and hang out with my cat, no other obligations. I'll make tea and put on low-key jazz (I love Bill Evans and Ahmad Jamal for this!) and try to give as cozy a space as possible.

And although it's not a miracle cure-all, I do find that the Nigella Lawson triple chocolate buckwheat cookies are another kind of magic. Do they look like chunks of coal? Maybe, a little bit. Are they even more delicious frozen and eaten straight from the freezer? 100%.

Expand full comment
author

Chocolate is never a bad idea for me.

I love this answer, all of it. Zero pressure in it all xx

Expand full comment
Dec 16, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I think the most important aspect of friendship is holding space...space to be sad, space to feel feelings, space to be happy, space to not know what we feel, space to be lost, space to be found, space to be cosy, space to feel free,space to feel scared, space to feel found, space to not even know what we feel, space to be seen, to be heard, space to be loved without conditions... holding space gives the other a safe haven where there are no pressures only to be themselves...I think this is the key to friendship, the key to life!! I have found this is where I heal, where I find my hope again and this is where I am most happiest....in that sacred place created by people I love....The only place we can't be sad is in a spaceship up in mars where we will go if the world wrecks all our heads and we will just make our way there if all options fail haha ;)

Expand full comment
author

Can say with 100% confidence that you are so brilliant at holding space for others when they need it. Thank you 🧡🧡🧡

Expand full comment