13 Comments
Oct 16, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

Going for walks, wearing sweaters (a full-body EXPERIENCE), embracing a closet of cozy, and drinking some kind of warm beverage most nightsβ€”cider, haldi doodh (I love the Diaspora Co. blend!), milky tea, hot chocolate. And I LOVE returning to baking in earnest; over the summer, I usually fall off, even from baking bread; it's too hot to justify cranking the oven to 475. But now, I want to get back on my schedule and fill the apartment with fresh bread, both the thing itself and the smell.

And listening to a certain kind of wistful-indie music that I grew up with and still love, but only let myself love in the fall. (Toledo has a great new album!!)

CHEERS TO A NEW WEEK. All caps for ALL CHEER.

Expand full comment
author

This list is calming and exciting all at once. It has made me fall in love with fall over again.

Also, the stunning observation of wearing a sweater being a full-body experience is perfection 🧑

Expand full comment
Oct 16, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

My absolute favourite thing about Autumn in Mexico is Day of the Dead. The smell of marigolds tinge the air and the markets fill with the orange flowers ready for our altars (the smell and bright colour are meant to guide the departed loved ones home). Preparing my offering for my departed love ones is one of the highlights of my year and dunking sweet, Day of the Dead bread into hot chocolate is an extra treat.

Expand full comment
author

Thank you for taking us on this journey with you, all my senses were there with you. I must experience this one day (if with you, even better!)

x

Expand full comment
Oct 17, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

It’s picking up the mid walk hot chocolate for me!

Expand full comment
Oct 17, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

I’m with the cat, walk in the woods and play with the leaves 🍁 πŸƒ 😁

Expand full comment
Oct 17, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

Ditto Tracey! You'll see my reply on this in a few moments.

Expand full comment
author

Beautiful! I can smell that walk in the woods x

Expand full comment
Oct 17, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

Listening to really nostalgic music (more specifically the Twilight soundtrack...) that makes me remember the feeling of going "back to school" in the fall. I also like to buy myself some new "back to school" clothes every fall even though I am pushing 30 and not a student in any way.

Expand full comment
author

I love this back to school nostalgia becoming a treat to yourself in your adult age. Yes, yes. yes!

Expand full comment
Nov 7, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

LOL, there are a few moments that occur in life where you know you did something, only to find out that it did not happen...such as my lengthy reply to my favorite fall activity, which I just knew I had typed after responding to Cathy last month! But here goes again.

I adore kicking through leaves, even as a grown woman. When I was a kid, my mom and I would go on nature walks every week. One of my favorite walks was in the fall where we would come across this part of a path that was canopied by trees. In the fall, trees would rain their leaves down and there would be this thick layer of foliage that would reach my shins. I would kick through his quarter mile of path every time, enjoying the crispy whisper the leaves made.

Today, my kid enjoys it as much as I do. I can't get him to rake them though.

Expand full comment
author

Oh my goodness, thank you for sharing this! I love this too. It almost feels like you are pushing your legs through water (that is easy to push through) when there are that many. I love it! I love that your kid loves it too .

Expand full comment