13 Comments
Oct 9, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I am currently reading "The Woman Behind the New Deal: The Life of Frances Perkins, FDR'S Secretary of Labor and His Moral Conscience," by Kirstin Downey. It was a gift from a person we hosted in Cincinnati last week, from the International Labor Organization in DC. She was an amazing woman!

Educated at Mt. Holyoke with degrees in chemistry and physics, and later at Columbia, she earned a Masters in Sociology and economics. She spent time in Chicago working in settlement houses. She became active in the Suffrage and labor movements from a young age, and after witnessing the horrific Triangle Shirtwaist Factory fire in NYC in 1911, became an even more ardent advocate for workers rights and safety, and held government postions in New York Agencies created to address these issues. She was behind the proposal of the Social Security, Minimum Wage, Unemployment Insurance, 44 hr maximum work week, and child labor laws that became part of FDR's New Deal. I love reading about inspiring women who don't let societal norms get in their way of doing what's right! It's also set within the period I'm writing about - so bonus!

Expand full comment
author

Don't you love when you get a book as a gift and it is EXACTLY what you want to read? This sounds like such a powerful one, thank you for sharing!

Expand full comment
Oct 9, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I am very much that gif right now just devouring one book after the other. My current read, A Deadly Education. Naomi Novik, but tomorrow it will be a new one as I’m reading at quite a pace!

Expand full comment
author

Ahhhhh I love when you're in that zone. Nothing like a good book to suck you in!

Expand full comment
Oct 9, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Filthy Animals by Brandon Taylor who was so engaging and witty in conversation with one of my favorite authors Lily King at a reading this week, I bought his book and got it signed afterward. It’s jarringly good so far!

Also Stephen King’s latest, Fairy Tale. I know, I know, Stephen King...but he was my neighbor once and I’ve read them all. Every. Single. Book.

Finally, from the barn board bookshelves of the family library, a nonfiction offering: Language and its Structure. Yeah, it’s as dry as it sounds.

Expand full comment
author

I so admire people who can be reading multiple books at once. I can always only ever have one on the go (except if you count The Big Book always on the go).

Also, we need more info about Stephen King being your neighbour, and another also, on a personal note, as good as his books are I am too much of a scaredy cat to have read even a portion of them haha.

Expand full comment

I agree...more about KIng as neighbor... I, too, am a scaredy cat, Lauren, and do NOT like horror. Some day I'll relay my two experiences attempting to read horror (The Exorcist and King's Salem's Lot) Didn't get far in either book and I still get chills whenever anyone so much as mentions their names .

King does not just write horror. I thought that, myself, until my daughters enlightened me. They're long-time SK fans (they LOVE horror, btw) and gave me a copy of Under the Dome. I loved it, then moved to 11/22/63 which I just devoured! It's still my favorite and I actually re-read it every year or so. If you're ever of a mind to check SK out...there are a whole lot he writes that is not horror and he is so good (my recommendation is 11/22... it's rich and profound and a real treat!). Ciao!

Expand full comment
author

CJ! This is news to me, having just 'steered clear' because as much as looking at a cover can send me into sleepless nights haha. So this is so, so, so great to learn, thank you!

Expand full comment

I'm so jealous you were one of King's neighbors. I LOVE him. I don't like horror so have avoided most of that genre but was turned on to him by 11/22/63--one of the best books EVER! Most recently I read THE INSTITUTE which I loved almost as much as 11/22. Once I finish one of those I'm currently reading, I'm picking up FAIRY TALE. That looks incredible. Why do people have an issue with King, btw? Is it because he's a male? Because he's so prolific? I've heard that some writers disparage him b/c he "churns out so many books." I odn't get it.

Expand full comment
Oct 10, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

Atlas of the heart by Dr Brené Brown

Last chance library by Freyw Sampson

Husband material by Alexis Hall

Expand full comment
author

Another person reading three at once! Teach me your ways! I am one book at a time gal, and want to be like you when I grow up!

Expand full comment
Oct 11, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I'm reading "The Body Keeps the Score" by Dr Bessel Van Der Kolk. You would love this book. It's a deep dive on how trauma works; basically the book explains the connection between our body and minds, and how we store traumatic experiences in our bodies.

I'm also listening to Lord of the Rings - The Two Towers audiobook. That's my little hack for doing more than one book at a time...one I read before bed, the other I listen to in the mornings.

Expand full comment
author

I love this hack and I love the sound of this book, you're right I think I really would like it. Adding it to my list. Love you!

x

Expand full comment