6 Comments
Apr 24, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I’m a fan of sending a message to someone as soon as they enter my mind. If I know they have an important day coming up I’ll send them an encouragement on the day of or leading up to it.

Literally booked my getaway today. You know those tiny cabins in the woods with a lockbox for your phone? Yeah. That’s where I get all the scattered pieces of myself back to me. I’ll be there for the week and be back in time to read your Friday substack.

I’d love to read your responses too if you’re up to sharing.

Expand full comment
author

I am so excited that by the time you read this it will be after that amazing experience. I am very happy for you!

Thank you for asking for mine 🧡 In more recent years, after being a social butterfly, I have retreated into preferring solitude so it does take me effort to reach out to people sometimes. That is something I am working on for sure. But I also like the "thinking of you messages" because my intuition tells me there is a reason they popped in my head and even if that is wrong, it's nice to be thought of.

I am so grateful for London Writers Salon/Writers' Hour. That space keeps me connected even when I want to (or need to be) alone.

I recently started writing postcards and it has been such a joyful way to say "I am thinking of you" and write a quick or fun or thoughtful update without adding pressures I can sometimes feel of booking a call or zoom meeting when the screen fatigue is real 🧡🧡🧡

Expand full comment
Apr 25, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

This is gonna be a Tuesdays are for Lee to write, because Mondays are for Cuddles only - a day me and my wife spend together without other things taking our attention.

It depends on the person. Some folk I won't speak to for months or a year, but then I'll get the urge to write to them, so I do. I share what's going on, and await their reply with the same, and we have a conversation, then drop away again a little.

Others I touch base with semi-regularly, often with something specific triggering the contact.

There are some I have regularly scheduled time with, or irregularly whenever we can fit it in time, for games and stuff, which is nice.

And 2 people I touch base with every day except Mondays.

One is an old friend, and it started when I was in a terrible place mentally and emotionally. So it became a thing where I would text her when I woke up, just to show I was ok. And if she didn't get one, she would text, then call, until she got hold of me. I haven't needed that for a long time, but it was a habit we never broke. And, like, when I offer not to send my greeting while she's on holiday or whatever, she tells me to still send it, because she'd miss it if I didn't. Which is very sweet.

And the other is my poly partner. Most of me goes to Cuddles, but I have space for another, and a few months ago that happened. So every day I send a good morning, maybe a cute pet picture or a story about my day. And they respond when they're awake, with whatever. I often have to prod them into talking to me properly about their day and what's going on, but they're opening up, and I am, as you know, naturally open and verbose 😂

Expand full comment
author

I love these very much. How much love you have in your life! With how much you have to give, it is easy to see why 🧡🧡

Expand full comment
Apr 27, 2023Liked by lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆

I keep in touch via good ol’ fashioned text messages. If someone pops into my mind a couple of times within a few days, I text to say hi and to check in and see how they are doing.

I still have coffee dates with friends monthly. In LA it takes a while to get anywhere outside of your neighborhood, and as we’ve gotten older, my friends and I have moved from the Hollywood/West Hollywood area and scattered ourselves all over the city. I wish coffee dates didn’t involve an hour of driving each way, but here we are. ☕️

Expand full comment
author

I love texting someone when they're on my mind. I sometimes pause and think "There must be a reason they did" and often, they'll reply saying they were just thinking of me too! Or that they needed a friend that day, or were glad to hear what I said for whatever reason. I think it's such a simple and powerful way to stay connected.

Also yes, long travels for simple catch ups are tiring! xx

Expand full comment