6 Comments
Aug 22, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

I don’t know if I fall in the category of folks that you’re asking for advice from but I’ll chime in anyway. At my last job we got the option to work four 9-hour days and one 4-hour day to make up the 40 hours a week. Most of my colleagues chose to work half day on Friday. I chose to work half day on Monday. I would start my day at 1 pm and Monday was not for any meetings, it was office hours for me to set up my week and tie up anything leftover from the previous week. I was strict about this as it helped me set up my week as I liked. I don’t know if this is an option for you but this literally made me look forward to Mondays 😊 😊 😊

Expand full comment
author

Always! I was specific with my ask but for sure didn't mean to exclude. Thank you so much for sharing this tip! I really like this thinking and it makes perfect sense. I don't have the option to free up my morning BUT I do have the option to free up my afternoons so this has inspired a revamp for sure, thank you 🧑

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

I listen to Lou’s Substack 😁 😘

Expand full comment
Aug 23, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they πŸŒˆπŸ†

Occasionally, I have to step back and remind myself to step away from busyness. I'll go through a brief spell where I feel like I'm not being enough, doing enough, or that I want to do something new and challenging. So I do things like sign up for a comedy writing workshop. :-D Or apply for a freelance job, just to feel useful. It doesn't matter that I am employed full-time and teach as an adjunct, plus have a husband and an 11-year-old. Sometimes, I just feel stuck. It is in these moments that I have learned to just stop. Then I weed through things and decide what things are useful and bring me joy.

Expand full comment
author

Stripping back then re-adding the best parts is an excellent way to look at it. I love this, thank you so much for sharing it 🧑 I can so relate to the taking so much (unnecessary stuff) on but never considered how I could get my time back in this way. I appreciate you.

Expand full comment