17 Comments
Aug 14, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they šŸŒˆšŸ†

That my home has a smell, and it's good, and I can recognize it. (I clean before I leave.) There's something tremendously rewarding in that: the knowledge that my body understands my home.

Expand full comment
author

Isn't the smell of home just the best? It floods in so much feeling of safety and comfort and peace. Home hasn't been that all of my life, so I so cherish that now šŸ§”šŸ§”

Expand full comment
Aug 16, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they šŸŒˆšŸ†

Yes, exactly! Having that sense of home now feels especially tenderā€”I know what it used not to be.

Expand full comment
Aug 14, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they šŸŒˆšŸ†

Opening my door to see my four legged fur ball awaiting me (:

Expand full comment
author

THE DREAM! šŸ§”

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they šŸŒˆšŸ†

Home is my stuff, my books, my yarn, my bed, my plants. Also doing what I want.

Expand full comment
author

The doing what I want? The best šŸ§” I also feel such a comfort having all the things that bring me joy within reach.

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they šŸŒˆšŸ†

Sleeping in my own bed!

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they šŸŒˆšŸ†

My favourite parts of coming home after being away are sleeping in my own bed again, with my pillows, :0) and having a cuppa just the way I like it x

Expand full comment
author

The pillows have been mentioned a few times and I so get it! The bed can be as comfy as you like but if the pillow isn't mine I am not going to sleep the same šŸ§”

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they šŸŒˆšŸ†

Summer home: air thickly scented with salt water

Winter home: being bowled over by the kids with tails

Expand full comment
author

Igniting so many senses here, I am there with you.

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they šŸŒˆšŸ†

I love the new energy that comes from being away...itā€™s like I can see things better when I return home. I know it sounds silly but itā€™s like the garden looks prettier, the problems seem less, I can feel the energy to face stuff & things just look clearer. I love coming home being reminded that the pace of life is in my control...Also my lovely family, friends & of course Daisy šŸ¶ šŸ’–

Expand full comment
author

Ooooh, yes! I like the garden looking prettier. I always feel home feels bigger when I get back after being away. Not in a materialistic "I want a big house" way, but in a "I feel like there is so much room to be me here" way.

Expand full comment
Aug 15, 2022Liked by lauren deborah | she/they šŸŒˆšŸ†

My own pillow, knowing where all the stuff is in the kitchen, having an excessive option of books to read next and not just hoping that I feel the vibe of the selection that I took with me!

Expand full comment
author

Oh this is a good list! Especially the finding the stuff in the kitchen. Heavily relate. "What do you mean you don't have a pair of tongs?"

Expand full comment