Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Shea Roberts Gyllen

on being the only expert on our own experience

This episode of My Dad Stole My Limelight was recorded with Squadcast!

listen and review on apple podcasts!

listen on spotify & answer q&a!

listen on iHEART radio!

listen everywhere else!

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

join the chat for more!

connect with lauren

resources, with love

be a guest on MDSML

email the pod: mydadstolemylimelight@gmail.com

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

I am (once again) very excited about my guest this week! We were having such a rad chat and I was like “I need to hit record!”.

I am pleased to welcome improviser, Shea Roberts Gyllen (they/them)! Shea is also maybe the most patient person ever as I rescheduled this episode with them mayyyyyybe 12 times, and we ended up back at the original time! This is very much like me trying to choose an outfit, I try on 12, end up back at the first!

a love story that begins under a puppet? iconic!

In this episode:

-Enjoy the bird and seaplane sounds as I recorded this from Oak Bay, Vancouver Island, a humble brag!

-It feels so good to share ourselves loudly!

-Shea talks about coming out as ongoing as someone who presents femme!

-Kids can teach us so very much! Talking to kids about gender is very fun!

-Improv is FASCINATING to me! So much respect!

-Shea used to be a professional stiltwalker! My new dream job is unlocked!

-Fun fact, clothes don’t make your gender!

-Shea named their child and their child named them!

-The guest recording in the episode is an educational experience! Blessed!

-Hearing a different answer to the same question from multiple guests, means there are more options and possibilities every time and I freaking love that!

-Being a parent really helped Shea discover their being non-binary!

-Step one when someone you know comes out with a new name and new pronouns? Update their contact in your phone!

-Birth spaces are very gendered, which Shea is trying to change in their work!

-Shea very kindly passes the mic and asks me about my new pronouns and it felt very nice to talk about being your she/they host in this ep! Thank you, Shea <3

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

Connect with my guest:

-Follow Shea on Instagram: @knittingayarn

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

🌈 Queer joy of the week!

pride is coming to vancouver again sooooooon and we have NEWS coming soon too!

(I want Queer joy from the community! Email me your photographic, artistic, meme, written work or other joy to mydadstolemylimelight@gmail.com so I can share it with the community!)

🌈 5-star review showcase.

(Give us a 5-star review to see yours here and to give me something to post next week!)

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

podcast production and editing made possible by: Alexi Johnson and the team at @604podnetwork

logo art: @raphe.ca

music: Shawn Kangro


love you!

lauren deborah (she/they)

xx

🧡learn more about LD here!

0 Comments
hi, lauren deborah!
hi, lauren deborah!
Authors
lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆