Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Julia Rodgers

on beautiful friendships and empowering herself

This episode of My Dad Stole My Limelight was recorded with Squadcast!

listen and review on apple podcasts!

listen on spotify & answer q&a!

listen on iHEART radio!

listen everywhere else!

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

join the chat for more!

connect with lauren

resources, with love

be a guest on MDSML

email the pod: mydadstolemylimelight@gmail.com

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

This is the most nervous I have ever been to record an episode, y’all. It’s because my guest is a true idol of mine. Since I met Julia (she/her) in our early twenties and she and her other roommate Anna (who also makes an appearance in this episode) welcomed me into their home, I have adored them both so much. Julia is wise, kind, hilarious, and strong and these are some of the many reasons I look up to her. She also introduced me to the sriracha and avocado combo which ultimately changed my life for the better.

baby lauren, baby julia, baby anna: halloween 2016

In this episode:

-We reminisce about living under a falafel shop!

-Our friendship has blossomed just like we have and that is so nice!

-These show notes will never do justice to Julia’s elegant and sage words and I am willing to say that now so that you can stop reading and start listening!

-Linguistic shifts are a gift, and we are so grateful!

-Julia wants you to know it's never too late to reconsider whatever preconceived notions you have about your identity; age and past experience don't necessarily box you into one finite understanding of who you are as an individual!

-Montreal is a character in this story! It’s here, it’s queer! And speaking French is hard!

-The guest clip in this episode is likely one of the best I have ever gotten for this podcast. I may be biased as I love them both dearly, but it is okay?

-How nice it is for people to see us for who we are, maybe even before we can?

-Julia is making “workshopping a breakup” a thing and I am here for it!

-Coming out via @wussymag memes is a vibe!

-Everyone deserves a friendship like Anna and Julia’s! These loves are the most important!

-Perfectionism is a huge blockade for coming out “later” in life and Julia is so generous in sharing her experiences in putting that aside to find her joy!

-After you listen to this episode, you will go and read Little Women immediately!

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

🌈 Queer joy of the week.

Wussy Mag on Instagram: “Winona Ryder snapped on set of ‘Beetlejuice 2’ reprising her role as Lydia Deetz”
May 18, 2023
  1. Julia came out via wussy mag so there

  2. Julia and I have matching Winona tattoos

  3. Winona forever

(I want Queer joy from the community! Email me your photographic, artistic, meme, written work or other joy to mydadstolemylimelight@gmail.com so I can share it with the community!)

🌈 5-star review showcase.

no new reviews, y’all. leave one here!

(Give us a 5-star review to see yours here!)

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

podcast production and editing made possible by: Alexi Johnson and Alistair Ogden

logo art: @raphe.ca

music: Shawn Kangro

follow the podcast network: @604podnetwork


love you!

lauren deborah

xx

0 Comments
hi, lauren deborah!
hi, lauren deborah!
Authors
lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆