Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Jenny Russell

on safety in community and thanking those who came before us

This episode of My Dad Stole My Limelight was recorded with Squadcast!

listen and review on apple podcasts!

listen on spotify & answer q&a!

listen everywhere else!

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

join our chat! any subscriber can start a convo with the community <3

connect with lauren

resources, with love

be a guest on MDSML

email the pod: mydadstolemylimelight@gmail.com

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

This week I am joined by comedian (Just For Laughs Vancouver, Queer FM), and IMO karaoke legend Jenny Russell (she/her/they/them)! Jenny has been on my wish list for a while and I am so glad I finally got the courage to be like “Hey I would love to chat to you!” and what a treat, for all of us, that Jenny said yes!

lauren went shopping a couple days after we recorded this ep and questions were answered <3

In this episode:

-We get an important and much-needed reminder to remember those who fought for us and experienced tragedy in order for Queers to be where we are today! As well as the amazing Queer history filled with joy!

-It’s okay not to know, it’s okay to figure it out as you go! We love the journey!

-Biphobia is very real and very hard and very much a product of our surroundings and trying to protect ourselves and is a constant unlearning!

-Jenny is very generous with her history of bullying and being bullied and the violence they faced and I am really grateful for everything she shared!

-Safety is discussed and unpacked a lot in this conversation and it’s very important to hear Jenny’s stories!

-Progress is amazing, but a lot of the tradition feels lost in the process!

-Jenny had a Gay Fairy Godmother, and this is my official call for one of my own. As a demisexual, I always feel like I am still 12 in my dating and sex ed (12 as a girl at Catholic school by the way! Even worse! I need to learn!)

-Being gay is so expensive!

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

Connect with my guest:

-Follow Jenny on Instagram: @jenny.b.f

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

🌈 Queer joy of the week.

(credit unknown, please let me know if you know who to credit!) but this is a vibe vibe vibe vibe for this ep, for me, for future eps i have on the way. i love you.

(I want Queer joy from the community! Email me your photographic, artistic, meme, written work or other joy to mydadstolemylimelight@gmail.com so I can share it with the community!)

🌈 5-star review showcase.

i am so so so grateful for messages like this. plz put them in 5-star reviews if you feel like it so more people can discover the show <3

(Give us a 5-star review to see yours here! USE THE POWER AS YOU WISH!)

🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

podcast production and editing made possible by: Alexi Johnson and Alistair Ogden

logo art: @raphe.ca

music: Shawn Kangro

follow the podcast network: @604podnetwork


love you!

lauren deborah

xx

0 Comments
hi, lauren deborah!
hi, lauren deborah!
Authors
lauren deborah | she/they 🌈🐆